Credo of Holy Redeemer

This is a creed written around 1980 by a group of East German high school students who, in the face of Communist oppression, dared to assert their individualism and their faith in a God who loves them precisely for who they are. As pastor of Holy Redeemer Reformed Catholic Church, I often use this creed in the Mass, as an alternative to the Nicene Creed.

I believe in God.

By this I mean I believe I am wanted.

I know therefore that I shall be used for the many small steps

of the great love of God.

I am of value.

I therefore have courage to allow myself to be used.

I believe in Jesus.

By this I mean I believe I am loved.

I know, therefore, I shall not be discarded or cast off, but preserved–

in sorrow and pain, in weakness and failure, in disaster and death,

I shall not perish.

I am irreplaceable.

I therefore have courage to live and love to the utmost.

I believe in the Spirit.

By this I mean no one can shake my faith.

For I know that Jesus is close to me and I am close to him.

His victory even in and through death is my victory, too.

I am indestructible.

I therefore have courage to renew my faith over and over again.

Amen.

About frmichelrcc

I have a degree in religious studies from the University of Wisconsin, did graduate work in theology at St. Norbert College, De Pere, Wisconsin, and also at St. Paul's University in Ottawa. I have been a Benedictine since I first professed as an oblate in 1982, making final profession in 2009. I have worked as vocations director in a large diocese in the mid-west and am a spiritual director in the Benedictine tradition. I have 3 sons, one of whom is now in God's loving embrace in eternity, and 2 grandsons, Bradley and Jacob.
This entry was posted in Becoming "Church". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

